Current Contest Banner

EFX Subscriptions

Design Discussions

Let's talk about designing covers.

Photoshop - Beginners' Questions

Postby chouette » Oct Tue 04, 2016 3:43 pm

Hi all, as you may know, I have decided to plunge in this big monster called Photoshop! As a beginner, I have A LOT of questions which may seem mundane to most of you experts out there but for me, it's like learning a completely new language I know nothing about. The main reason for this post is for ALL new beginners to learn the basics and get answers to the same types of questions I have. Personally, I don't aim for perfection at the moment, I'm looking for simple and basic answers. So forget that you are an expert of Photoshop and come down to my level, lol

In the past 2 days, I have been reading a lot and watching many videos on the subject matter and learned a few things here and there but I’m a bit tired of looking for all the answers on the internet, so I decided to go to the source, you guys.

I have already done a testing label, as it’s simpler to do than a cover. I followed the instructions on a video showing how to do a label, but unfortunately it shows that only. Nothing on what to use as “Document Type”, Color Mode (for ex. RGB Color or CMYK Color), 8 or 16 bit and then on how to save these specific settings for when I need it again. You see, those are all basic questions that a beginner would not know.

So I did what I thought was best to start a label –

Document Type : Custom
Width: 1500 Pixels
Height: 1500 Pixels
Resolution: 300 Pixels
Color Mode: CMYK Color – 8 bit
Background Contents: White

And the rest I left as it was. So please let me know if these are the correct settings or not and how to save them.